Priorities of the Spanish Presidency of the Council

Spain now holds the presidency of the Council of the EU. It will work in close coordination with the other members of the trio – Belgium and Hungary, as well as with the President of the European Council, Herman Van Rompuy, and the High Representative for the Foreign and Security Policy, Mrs. Catherine Ashton.

The Spanish presidency has four main priorities:

  • Full and effective application of the Lisbon Treaty;
  • Greater co-ordination of economic policies of Member States and the approval of the European strategy for sustainable growth for 2020;
  • Reinforcement of the presence and influence of the European Union in the new world order;
  • Placing European citizens at the centre of EU policy, with initiatives designed to develop their rights and freedoms.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s