Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia About to Get Visa Free Travel

The European Parliament has adopted an amendment to Regulation (EC) No 539/2001 listing the third countries whose nationals must be in possession of visas when crossing the external borders and those whose nationals are exempt from that requirement.

The amendment will allow citizens of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia to travel freely to and from the European Union for short-term visits without having to obtain a visa first. The amendment will enter into force on December, 19th, after confirmation by the Council.

The exemption from the visa requirement will apply to Albania and Bosnia and Herzegovina after an additional assessment by the Commission.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s