Proposal for Visa Free Travel for Citizens from the Western Balkans

The European Commission has adopted a proposal for granting visa free travel to the citizens of Macedonia, Montenegro and Serbia. The proposal enables the citizens of these three countries to travel to the Schengen countries with the new biometric passports. The Commission’s proposal needs to be approved by the Council after having consulted the European Parliament.

A critique from an interesting angle to this proposal is that the consequence of offering visa-free travel to the three Western Balkan countries will penalize Muslim Bosniaks and the citizens of Kosovo. The claim is by the Young European Federalists. Strangely enough, they failed to recognize that Turkey is a candidate for membership, too.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s